Isle of Wight Council



We operate a two-tier system of schools with 48 local authority maintained schools or academies which are made up as follows:

  • 38 primary schools for pupils aged four to 11
  • six secondary schools for pupils aged 11 to 19
  • one all-through school for pupils aged four to 16

  • two mixed-sex special schools. One for primary aged pupils and one for secondary aged and sixth form pupils
  • one Pupil Referral Unit for pupils aged four to 16

This service is part of our development to improve our website and can now be found on our new beta website.