

Standing Advisory Council on Religious Education

MINUTES

Agreed Syllabus Conference 12.06.2020 Virtual Meeting owing to Coronavirus Restrictions on Numbers Attending Meetings.

Attendance

<u>**Committee A**</u> Representing Free Churches, Roman Catholic Church, non-Christian Faiths

raims	
Mrs Sue Cox	(Free Churches)
Sister Stella Kelly	(RC)
Mrs Alison Burt	(RC)
Dr. Lionel Alexander	(Jewish faith)
Mr. David Downer	(Buddhist)
Mrs Norma Corney	(Baha'i)
Mrs Ann Sechiari	(Buddhist)
Rev.Mike Hackleton	(Methodist)
Committee B Representing the Church of England	
Mrs Beryl Miller	
Rt. Rev. Peter Leonard	
<u>Committee C</u>	
Representing the teachers of the Isle of Wight.	
Secondary Miss Beth Feltham	Sandown CE Bay Academy
Headteacher Mrs Nicki Mobley	
<u>Committee D</u>	
Representing the Local Authority.	
Cllr Debbie Andre	
Cllr. George Cameron	
<u>In attendance</u>	
Dr Pat. Hannam RE Inspector	
Harry Kirby Clerk	

Chairman Miss Beth Feltham was unanimously elected Chairman having been proposed by Debbie Andre , Seconded by George Cameron

Apologies

Mr. Praful Thaker (Hindu), Mrs Kirstie Thomas (Teacher), Mr Simon Bligh (Humanist), Mrs Mary Clarke (Quaker) Mr Ebrahim Jeewa (Moslem), Imam Abdul Basith

Visit the IW SACRE website:

The minutes of the previous ASC Meeting November 19th 2016 were unanimously approved on being proposed by Sue Cox. Seconded by Beryl Miller

Declared Interests Debbie Andre . Foundation Governor, Cornerstone Federation. Peter Leonard Chairman Portsmouth and Winchesetr Multi-Academy Trust

Revision of Living Difference 111

Pat Hannam, RE Inspector had explained the role of the ASC at the last SACRE meeting regarding the requirement to review the Agreed Syllabus every 5 years. She updated colleagues on the progress of other SACREs in relation to LD111 reviews.

She also reminded colleagues of the procedure for members to cast votes in their group.

Harry Kirby reminded colleagues of the procedure of informing the LA following the vote.

Proposal

To agree to work with the other neighbouring authorities that share Living Difference III (Hampshire Portsmouth and the Isle of Wight) to produce a revised syllabus to be made available for use in IoW schools from January 2022.

All 4 co-ordinators, Lionel Alexander Group A, Beryl Miller group B, Beth Feltham Group C and Debbie Andre Group D reported their group's decision. All voted in favour of the proposal.

Harry Kirby was requested to forward this decision of the Agreed Syllabus Conference to the Local authority.