

# Standing Advisory Council on Religious Education

#### **MINUTES**

# Agreed Syllabus Conference 9.11.16 Westridge Training and Development Centre

### **Attendance**

## **Committee A**

Mrs Sue Cox (free Churches)

Ralph Hodd (RC)

Sister Stella Kelly (RC)

Co-opted members representing non-Christian faiths

Dr. Lionel Alexander (Jewish faith)
Mr. David Downer (Buddhist)
Mr Simon Bligh (Humanist)
Mrs Norma Corney (Baha'i)

**Committee B** Representing The Church of England

Mrs Beryl Miller Committee C

Representing the teachers of the Isle of Wight.

Secondary Miss Beth Feltham Sandown Bay Academy

Special Mrs Janice Ford Medina House

Committee D (4 members in total)
Representing the Local Authority.

Cllr John Hobart

Mrs. Patricia Hannam RE Inspector

In attendance

Justine Ball (Primary RE Inspector)

Harry Kirby Clerk

#### **Apologies**

Mr. Praful Thaker (Hindu), Mrs Kirstie Thomas (Teacher), Ms Diane Walsh (CE), Venerable Peter Sutton (CE), Mr Stuart Brenchley (LA), Mr Khurram Massod (Moslem), Mrs Nicki Mobley (Headteacher)

**Chairman** Beryl Miller was unanimously elected Chairman having been proposed by Ralph Hodd, Seconded by Sue Cox

**Declared Interests** None

#### **Report on Living Difference 111**

PH used a power-point presentation to inform members of why the conference was convened and the history of Living Difference 111, its review, and LA's involvement. She also described how Living Difference supports teachers in delivering quality Religious Education.

Each group then met separately to discuss the implications of adopting Living Difference as the Agreed Syllabus of the Isle of Wight. Each appointed a representative to cast their vote for, or against, the proposal :-

"That the Agreed Syllabus Conference approves the Agreed Syllabus, Living Difference111, to begin implementation in Isle of Wight schools from January 2017 and to be fully implemented from Easter 2017."

All 4 representatives, RH, BM,BF and JH, voted in favour of the proposal.

HK was requested to forward this decision of the Agreed Syllabus Conference to the LA for ratification.